SPAN - A Tale of Three Bridges + Kate Downie

ON

Sat 3rd Sep to Sun 30th Apr 2017

Dates and times

Kirkcaldy Galleries

01592 583206

Kirkcaldy Galleries is currently running two exhibitions upstairs that explore the 'Tale of Three Bridges' that straddle the Firth of Forth, with the newest addition, Queensferry Crossing, set to open in Spring 2017. In Gallery 2 is SPAN which tells the tale of the bridges through imagery, displays and hands-on activities for the whole family to enjoy.

In Gallery 1, award-winning artist Kate Downie is exhibiting pieces that examine the diversity of the Firth of Forth's coastline along with it's crossings. Please scroll down for more information on the two parts of this exhibition...

Gallery 2

The Queensferry Crossing is fast nearing completion – so what better time than now to celebrate the iconic bridges across the Forth, examples of three centuries of engineering excellence? In a unique partnership with Deep Sea World, we have created SPAN – A Tale of Three Bridges, an exhibition which mixes stunning historic images with family-friendly hands-on fun.

The show will tell the stories of the Forth Rail Bridge, the Forth Road Bridge and the new Queensferry Crossing. You can learn about the bold Victorians who risked their lives to create the magnificent rail bridge – a wonder of the age. What about the ‘spider men’ of the road bridge – how did they gain that nickname? And how close did we come to having a tunnel under the Forth, rather than the new crossing?

All the family can get hands-on too, with lots of interactive fun. There is a giant snakes and ladders game, a sea monster magnetic mix-up, a massive jigsaw, dressing up and quizzes. Everything will be bridge-themed and will therefore inspire any budding engineers in the family.

Gallery 1

Fife Cultural Trust is proud to present a selection of original drawings and prints from 1999 – 2016 by Kate Downie RSA

Kate Downie has been a practicing visual artist based in Scotland for the past 35 years, after studying at Gray’s School of Art in Aberdeen. She has exhibited her work extensively in both the UK and internationally. Within the past decade, she has created work in Japan, Australia, Norway and China.

Her interest in the social fabric of civil engineering, urbanisation and landscape has lead her into a series of extraordinary residencies over the years, including placements in a brewery, an oil rig, on the Great Wall of China and most recently on the Forth Road Bridge. Her practice includes painting, printmaking, large-scale drawing and performative drawing and she has had experience in large-scale public art projects both as a leading artist and as part of a team within diverse local community arts projects, here and in China.

For a number of years she was resident in Leith and has a large portfolio of works examining the diversity of the Firth of Forth coastline and crossings.

Her work is held in both public and private collections worldwide. She is a member of the Royal Scottish Academy, a former president of the Society of Scottish Artists and an active member of Glasgow Print Studio and Edinburgh Printmakers. She is an invited artist at the Cupar Arts Festival 2016 in Fife and her next major solo exhibition will be during the Edinburgh Festival in 2017.

“My work attempts to transform ordinary places into poetic acts of memory”

www.katedownie.com

Share with a friend

Locations & Times

Kirkcaldy

Kirkcaldy Galleries

Saturday 3rd Sep 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 4th Sep 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 5th Sep 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 6th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 7th Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 8th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 9th Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 10th Sep 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 11th Sep 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 12th Sep 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 13th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 14th Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 15th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 16th Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 17th Sep 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 18th Sep 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 19th Sep 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 20th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 21st Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 22nd Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 23rd Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 24th Sep 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 25th Sep 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 26th Sep 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 27th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 28th Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 29th Sep 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 30th Sep 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 1st Oct 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 2nd Oct 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 3rd Oct 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 4th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 5th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 6th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 7th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 8th Oct 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 9th Oct 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 10th Oct 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 11th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 12th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 13th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 14th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 15th Oct 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 16th Oct 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 17th Oct 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 18th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 19th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 20th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 21st Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 22nd Oct 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 23rd Oct 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 24th Oct 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 25th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 26th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 27th Oct 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 28th Oct 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 29th Oct 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 30th Oct 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 31st Oct 12:30 - 19:00
Tuesday 1st Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 2nd Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 3rd Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 4th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 5th Nov 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 6th Nov 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 7th Nov 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 8th Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 9th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 10th Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 11th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 12th Nov 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 13th Nov 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 14th Nov 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 15th Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 16th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 17th Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 18th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 19th Nov 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 20th Nov 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 21st Nov 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 22nd Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 23rd Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 24th Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 25th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 26th Nov 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 27th Nov 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 28th Nov 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 29th Nov 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 30th Nov 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 1st Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 2nd Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 3rd Dec 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 4th Dec 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 5th Dec 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 6th Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 7th Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 8th Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 9th Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 10th Dec 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 11th Dec 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 12th Dec 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 13th Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 14th Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 15th Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 16th Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 17th Dec 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 18th Dec 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 19th Dec 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 20th Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 21st Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 22nd Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 23rd Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 24th Dec 09:30 - 16:00
Thursday 29th Dec 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 30th Dec 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 31st Dec 09:30 - 16:00
Thursday 5th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 6th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 7th Jan 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 8th Jan 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 9th Jan 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 10th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 11th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 12th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 13th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 14th Jan 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 15th Jan 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 16th Jan 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 17th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 18th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 19th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 20th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 21st Jan 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 22nd Jan 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 23rd Jan 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 24th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 25th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 26th Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 27th Jan 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 28th Jan 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 29th Jan 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 30th Jan 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 31st Jan 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 1st Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 2nd Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 3rd Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 4th Feb 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 5th Feb 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 6th Feb 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 7th Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 8th Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 9th Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 10th Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 11th Feb 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 12th Feb 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 13th Feb 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 14th Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 15th Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 16th Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 17th Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 18th Feb 09:30 - 16:00
Sunday 19th Feb 12:00 - 16:00
Monday 20th Feb 12:00 - 19:00
Tuesday 21st Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Wednesday 22nd Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Thursday 23rd Feb 09:30 - 19:00
Friday 24th Feb 09:30 - 17:00
Saturday 25th Feb 09:30 - 16:00

Our website uses cookies to enhance your user experience. Continue using the site as normal if you are happy with this: Tell me more Yes I agree