What's ON


Brushstrokes

Did you know that OnFife museums look after an amazing collection of paintings, prints and drawings?

Want to know more? Then come along to our new exhibition and feast your eyes on some of the fantastic artworks we have here in Fife. There are works by William McTaggart, Elizabeth Blackadder, John Bellany and all four Scottish Colourists, as well as a host of other gems, just waiting to be discovered. Whether you favour traditional or contemporary, have a fondness for a stunning seascape, a soft spot for a still life or a passion for portraits, there is truly something for everyone.

Gain a special insight with our Staff Picks and help us find out more about what we should be collecting in the future and what you’d like to see us displaying in our galleries.

What is there to do?  

  • Listen to some of the artists talk about their work*   
  • Discover hidden details in some of the paintings*  
  • Chat to our curators about the collection and the exhibition (on certain days and times only)  

*Please bring a smartphone and headphones to access the above-mentioned digital elements in the galleries.   

For families  

  • Get creative with our Art Cart  
  • Try out our Matching Memory Game and jigsaw
  • Pick up an Art Pack with activities to do in the gallery and at home  

Brushstrokes at Home  

Watch:  

Find out more about some of the artists featured in the exhibition 

 

Listen:  

Couldn’t access artists’ audio recordings while you were visiting the exhibition? You can find them by clicking on one of the links below: 

Artist audio recordings

or

Artist audio recordings

 

Purchase:   

Purchase prints of some of the works on display by clicking on the link below: 

Purchase prints 

Share your thoughts:

Visited Brushstrokes but did not have time to fill in our feedback postcard? Find a digital version of it here:

Share your thoughts

***

For families:  

Mini Museum Makes: Fruity Still-Life

Be inspired by ‘Still Life, Bowl of Fruit’ by French artist Henri Fantin-Latour and create your own fruity collage! 

 

Mini Museum Makes: Tulips 

Brighten up your room with a colourful 3D bunch of tulips, inspired by ‘Tulips’ by Scottish artist S. J. Peploe. 

Times & Location

Kirkcaldy Galleries

War Memorial Gardens,
Kirkcaldy,
KY1 1YG
01592 583206

Wednesday 6th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 7th Jul
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 8th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 9th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 10th Jul
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 11th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 12th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 13th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 14th Jul
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 15th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 16th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 17th Jul
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 18th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 19th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 20th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 21st Jul
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 22nd Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 23rd Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 24th Jul
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 25th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 26th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 27th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 28th Jul
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 29th Jul
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 30th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 31st Jul
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 1st Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 2nd Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 3rd Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 4th Aug
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 5th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 6th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 7th Aug
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 8th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 9th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 10th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 11th Aug
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 12th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 13th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 14th Aug
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 15th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 16th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 17th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 18th Aug
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 19th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 20th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 21st Aug
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 22nd Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 23rd Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 24th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 25th Aug
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 26th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 27th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 28th Aug
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 29th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 30th Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 31st Aug
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 1st Sep
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 2nd Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 3rd Sep
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 4th Sep
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 5th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 6th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 7th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 8th Sep
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 9th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 10th Sep
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 11th Sep
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 12th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 13th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 14th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 15th Sep
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 16th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 17th Sep
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 18th Sep
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 19th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 20th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 21st Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 22nd Sep
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 23rd Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 24th Sep
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 25th Sep
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 26th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 27th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 28th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 29th Sep
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 30th Sep
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 1st Oct
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 2nd Oct
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 3rd Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 4th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 5th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 6th Oct
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 7th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 8th Oct
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 9th Oct
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 10th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 11th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 12th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 13th Oct
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 14th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 15th Oct
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 16th Oct
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm
Monday 17th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Tuesday 18th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Wednesday 19th Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Thursday 20th Oct
10:00 am - 19:00 pm
Friday 21st Oct
10:00 am - 17:00 pm
Saturday 22nd Oct
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Sunday 23rd Oct
12:00 pm - 16:00 pm