'REFUGIO' - after Selkirk after Crusoe

ON

Sat 30th Mar to Wed 18th Sep 2019

Dates and times

Free Entry

Kirkcaldy Galleries

01592 583206

A Fife Contemporary exhibition celebrating 300 years since the novel Robinson Crusoe was published.

In the early 18th century a sailor from Fife left his ship and lived alone for four years on an uninhabited Pacific island. Alexander Selkirk’s subsequent account of his experiences provided Daniel Defoe with inspiration for his novel, Robinson Crusoe. 300 years after its publication, at a venue close to Selkirk’s birthplace, Lower Largo, REFUGIO explores the blurring of fact with fiction between Selkirk and Crusoe.

The exhibition combines different approaches to representation by photographer Roger Palmer: analogue and digital photographs made in Scotland and Chile; temporary works based on illustrations in an early 20th century book for children; and extracts from J M Coetzee’s 1986 novel, Foe

Details of accompanying events on www.fcac.co.uk

Share with a friend

Locations & Times

Kirkcaldy

Kirkcaldy Galleries

Saturday 30th Mar 10am - 4pm
Sunday 31st Mar 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 1st Apr 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 2nd Apr 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 3rd Apr 10am - 5pm
Thursday 4th Apr 10am - 7pm
Friday 5th Apr 10am - 5pm
Saturday 6th Apr 10am - 4pm
Sunday 7th Apr 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 8th Apr 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 9th Apr 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 10th Apr 10am - 5pm
Thursday 11th Apr 10am - 7pm
Friday 12th Apr 10am - 5pm
Saturday 13th Apr 10am - 4pm
Sunday 14th Apr 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 15th Apr 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 16th Apr 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 17th Apr 10am - 5pm
Thursday 18th Apr 10am - 7pm
Friday 19th Apr 10am - 5pm
Saturday 20th Apr 10am - 4pm
Sunday 21st Apr 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 22nd Apr 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 23rd Apr 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 24th Apr 10am - 5pm
Thursday 25th Apr 10am - 7pm
Friday 26th Apr 10am - 5pm
Saturday 27th Apr 10am - 4pm
Sunday 28th Apr 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 29th Apr 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 30th Apr 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 1st May 10am - 5pm
Thursday 2nd May 10am - 7pm
Friday 3rd May 10am - 5pm
Saturday 4th May 10am - 4pm
Sunday 5th May 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 6th May 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 7th May 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 8th May 10am - 5pm
Thursday 9th May 10am - 7pm
Friday 10th May 10am - 5pm
Saturday 11th May 10am - 4pm
Sunday 12th May 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 13th May 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 14th May 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 15th May 10am - 5pm
Thursday 16th May 10am - 7pm
Friday 17th May 10am - 5pm
Saturday 18th May 10am - 4pm
Sunday 19th May 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 20th May 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 21st May 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 22nd May 10am - 5pm
Thursday 23rd May 10am - 7pm
Friday 24th May 10am - 5pm
Saturday 25th May 10am - 4pm
Sunday 26th May 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 27th May 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 28th May 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 29th May 10am - 5pm
Thursday 30th May 10am - 7pm
Friday 31st May 10am - 5pm
Saturday 1st Jun 10am - 4pm
Sunday 2nd Jun 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 3rd Jun 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 4th Jun 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 5th Jun 10am - 5pm
Thursday 6th Jun 10am - 7pm
Friday 7th Jun 10am - 5pm
Saturday 8th Jun 10am - 4pm
Sunday 9th Jun 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 10th Jun 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 11th Jun 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 12th Jun 10am - 5pm
Thursday 13th Jun 10am - 7pm
Friday 14th Jun 10am - 5pm
Saturday 15th Jun 10am - 4pm
Sunday 16th Jun 12 noon - 4pm
Monday 17th Jun 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 18th Jun 10am - 5pm
Wednesday 19th Jun 10am - 5pm
Thursday 20th Jun 10am - 7pm
Friday 21st Jun 10am - 5pm
Saturday 22nd Jun 10am - 4pm

Our website uses cookies to enhance your user experience. Continue using the site as normal if you are happy with this: Tell me more Yes I agree