What's ON


Art-tastic

Visit our Art-tastic exhibition!

Does a picture paint a thousand words?  Decide for yourself at our colourful and entertaining family-friendly exhibition!

If you want to, you can explore the stories hidden within some of our fantastic paintings online first. Think about what you can see or how they make you feel.  Then fire up your imagination and use your powers of detection to create your own stories. We’ve got some ideas to get you thinking and we can’t wait to see you at Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries to enjoy the exhibition in person.

With lots of lovely paintings and other interesting items to inspire you, as well as quizzes and great ideas for simple things to make and do at home or in the classroom, the exhibition will be worth visiting in person.

The Lighthouse Keeper & the Seal

Clydebuilt Puppet Theatre have made a brand-new film ‘The Lighthouse Keeper & the Seal’ inspired by our painting Low Lighthouse, Isle of May by David Mackie Cook.

Here’s a trailer for the film:

You can watch the full film here:

Come and see Clydebuilt’s theatre set in the gallery – you can even use their gorgeous puppets to make up your own seaworthy story.

Make your own puppet

If you’d like to make some puppets at home, why not try one of these?

Download instructions and templates to make the puppets here:

Why not also have a go at our two Museum Makes, inspired by the paintings in Art-tastic and scroll down for some other inspiration and activities:

 

Turn art detective with our Art-tastic Quiz, with challenges ranging from investigating the colours of the rainbow to discussing your favourite painting. Get creative with our cute colouring sheet inspired by ‘Baba and Billy‘ or download the instructions on how to make a 3D magpie, inspired by the one in our painting.

Times & Location

Dunfermline Carnegie Library & Galleries

1-7 Abbot Street
Dunfermline
KY12 7NL
01383 602365

Wednesday 6th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Thursday 7th Jul
10:00 am - 18:00 pm
Friday 8th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Saturday 9th Jul
10:00 am - 15:00 pm
Sunday 10th Jul
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm
Monday 11th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Wednesday 13th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Thursday 14th Jul
10:00 am - 18:00 pm
Friday 15th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Saturday 16th Jul
10:00 am - 15:00 pm
Sunday 17th Jul
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm
Monday 18th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Wednesday 20th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Thursday 21st Jul
10:00 am - 18:00 pm
Friday 22nd Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Saturday 23rd Jul
10:00 am - 15:00 pm
Sunday 24th Jul
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm
Monday 25th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Wednesday 27th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Thursday 28th Jul
10:00 am - 18:00 pm
Friday 29th Jul
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Saturday 30th Jul
10:00 am - 15:00 pm
Sunday 31st Jul
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm
Monday 1st Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Wednesday 3rd Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Thursday 4th Aug
10:00 am - 18:00 pm
Friday 5th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Saturday 6th Aug
10:00 am - 15:00 pm
Sunday 7th Aug
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm
Monday 8th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Wednesday 10th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Thursday 11th Aug
10:00 am - 18:00 pm
Friday 12th Aug
10:00 am - 16:00 pm
Saturday 13th Aug
10:00 am - 15:00 pm
Sunday 14th Aug
12:00 pm - 15:00 pm